Pancakes That’ll Make You Wanna Slap Somebody (Sugar free, Refined Flour-free, Dairy-free) πŸ₯ž

Pancakes That’ll Make You Wanna Slap Somebody (Sugar free, Refined Flour-free, Dairy-free) πŸ₯ž

I think I’ve stumbled onto something great.

There are a ton of recipes out there using oatmeal, eggs, bananas, and other simple ingredients to make pancake-like creations. Until now, most of my attempts have been just that – “pancake-like”.

But, I had some leftover oatmeal last week, and an idea struck me. I blended about 1/3 to 1/2 of a serving of cooked oatmeal with 1 egg (my last egg) and 1/3 of a banana (also left-over) in my blender. I stirred a pinch of baking powder into that batter as an afterthought, to help it rise. Then I sprayed a skillet with some cooking spray, and made 6 cute mini pancakes.

Oh. My. Gosh.

They were so good! So good that I immediately pulled up the blog and started typing away.

cakes

And this may be the secret –

When I cooked my oatmeal, I had stirred in a couple of heaping spoonfuls of pumpkin puree, which I had bought for another recipe, and some cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. It’s good in any season πŸ˜‰

pancakes

And, when I cooked the pancakes, I sprinkled in a few chopped pecans. Then, after cooking, I topped them with a few more pecan pieces, a sprinkle of ground flax seed, about a tablespoon of melted almond butter, and BLUEBERRIES. Fruit and almond butter just cannot be beat as a pancake (or anything) topping.

almond butter

And I began the hot (rainy) summer day in Fall bliss πŸ™‚

Highly recommend a cup of Blueberry Muffin Dunkin’ Donuts Coffee with unsweetened Silk Soymilk. Absolutely perfect with this breakfast, and rounded it out with some more protein.

Why was this breakfast so exciting?

#1. It was delicious.

#2. It made me feel awesome.

#3. I knew it was healthy, but it tasted like it wasn’t πŸ˜‰

Every meal should feel this way, shouldn’t it?

It doesn’t have to be butter-smothered to be delicious. No matter your health goals, you can enjoy awesome food. Just be creative! (Or get a little help)

I hope you like these pancakes if you give them a shot. I used things I had on hand, clearly, so feel free to substitute different fruits or toppings for things you have around or things you love.

Be blessed, be bright, & Happy 4th of July!

Rae

 

Leave a Reply

