Let go.

Life can easily become a battle for control. 

So many things, people, issues, addictions, and fears would love to rule your life. Don’t let ’em.

This is where you’d expect me to tell you to take control for yourself. I’m not, and here’s why – I’ve realized that we are unable to control life. We’d love to, but we simply aren’t capable. The harder I fight for control, the more life I’ll squeeze out of myself and those around me.

Solution? Surrender control to the only one who holds the universe. Trust that you cannot make your life anything without his help. Instead of taking control, take charge and choose your God. What you let rule is ultimately what you worship, so even letting yourself rule is a recipe for disaster. Take charge, not control.

This applies to all areas of life. When I run, I take charge of my legs, and I choose to push hard – but I cannot control my genetic potential or current ability, nor can I control fluke injuries. In school, I can choose how I prepare – but I cannot control the questions on the test. I cannot assure that nothing will be difficult for me, and I cannot build a shield big enough to protect me from all harm or discomfort.

I can choose how I treat others, but I cannot control how much others like me. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to come to terms with that? To stop worrying about what every move looks like through others’ eyes? To embrace the fact that it’s impossible to be everyone’s favorite? Some of you are there… please teach me your ways 😉

Bringing it back to the focus of this blog, you don’t really want control over your diet. Control feels good – but it quickly becomes consuming. What we eat seems like an easy thing to control, and on a deep level this appeals to us when we feel out of control in other areas. I had an unfortunate day recently, and I felt like I just couldn’t win – so I overate. Darn if I couldn’t control the happiness of my circumstances, I could control the happiness of my tummy. Guess what? It didn’t work. I ended up full and… still sad. It’s like how girls in movies break out the ice cream when a guy does them wrong – it might provide temporary pleasure, and that’s fine, but it never fixes the problem. On the flipside, control issues are a common contributor to eating disorders and disordered eating. This is why disorder commonly springs up around a life change – parents splitting up, a teenager entering high school or moving off to college, or coming out of a bad break-up. The individual thinks, “I know- my body and my food intake is something I can control. If it’s under my control, it’ll be perfect, and if my body/diet is perfect, life will be perfect.” From the outside we can see how skewed this thinking is, but from the inside it’s a blurry haze. Don’t let yourself get trapped in there.
What does taking charge, not control/ taking hold of choice in my diet mean for me? 

  • Thinking calmly and rationally about what different foods will do for my body, what I need at the particular moment, and whether/what food will do me good. 
  • Choosing to look at food as a blessing and as nourishment, not as something to manipulate and restrict, or idolize and abuse. Not giving it power over me, and not expecting myself to have power over it.
  • Giving it all to God, asking Him to help me make my choices, because I know he cares about even the smallest things in my life.

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?” Matt. 6:25

“Live carefree with God; He is most careful with you.” 1 Peter 5:7

“Whatever you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do it all to the glory of God.” 1 Cor. 10:31

“Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not fear, for you are more valuable than many sparrows.” Luke 12:17

“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need and thank Him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s perfect peace, which exceeds anything we can understand.” Phil 4:6-7

“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever should believe in Him should not perish, but have eternal life.” John 3:16

Always keep the big picture in mind. When your life gets small and laser-focused and you don’t want to loosen your grip, remember that God’s ready and waiting to take over – and he has a much bigger hand and a stronger grip and a better plan than any of us do.

Stay bright,

Rae

Leave a Reply

