Bright Eats for 4

Bright Eats for 4

This weekend I had the privilege of hanging out with my family for almost 48 hours straight. It was absolutely the best. Running in college and being really tied down here has truly made me appreciate the times when I do get to be with my family, because they’re far fewer than I might have hoped for. The 4 of us (Mom, Dad, Anna, and myself) are a really tight-knit group, so we keep in touch daily by phone, but it was so nice to spend actual time with my crew. Credit goes to Coach Blount for this post.

I made the trip to Auburn, Al, our weekend destination, with my friend Mikayla (also meeting up with her family). I’d like to give you a glimpse into the sights of this beautiful city, as well as some fabulous eats.

Good eats began at Chick-Fil-a of Auburn with epic salads. I love the Spicy Southwest! I saved the pumpkin seeds they give you for topping as a snack for later. They came in handy.

chickfila salad spicy southwest and harvest
Salads @ Chick-Fil-a Auburn with Mikalya!

After we parted ways, I had a late-ish dinner with my family at a local joint. This fish was O-M-G. Tilapia is so great and hard to mess up! Pretty much my go-to order at restaurants.

tilapia and asparagus lemon glaze
Tilapia, asparagus, and mashed potatoes with a lemon glaze. Yum.

Here’s us the next day, enjoying the sights –

sightseeing auburn alabama
My sister and I at a gorgeous manmade waterfall on campus.

Cooking for 4 can be easier and harder in some ways than cooking for 1. It’s definitely more fun to have 4 people helping out. I’d say we did a pretty good job (groceries courtesy of Publix of Auburn)! I really enjoyed having fish this weekend, because it’s harder to come by on campus. I also loved having grilled veggies and oven-toasted bread!

salmon, rainbow carrots, asparagus, sweet potato
Grilled salmon, sweet potato with cinnamon, asparagus, and rainbow carrots – all my favorite things.

And finally, I introduced my family to Halo Top ice cream this weekend. Yummmm. It’s higher-protein, lower-calorie, and still made from relatively simple and natural ingredients. Can’t beat it! For 1/2 cup serving, it’s 60 calories. Barely a dent in your day, but yummy enough to feel like you really treated yourself.

halo top ice cream

When I left Auburn, my tank was fuller than when I arrived. I encourage you to strive for that type of family atmosphere – whether it be within your group of friends, home, extended family, or even just you, God, and your dog. Everyone needs a group that can help them recharge. We are physical, spiritual, and emotional beings – who sometimes forget about our need for quality fuel in each area.

PS – The eats and sights aren’t too bad in Troy, Alabama either. This is my view on the daily:

I encourage you to find the beauty (and good fuel) wherever you are!

With love,

Rae

Leave a Reply

