National Hot Breakfast Month

National Hot Breakfast Month

It’s not very cold in Troy, Alabama right now (knock on wood), but that’s no reason not to celebrate National Hot Breakfast Month. When I get out of bed and my dorm room’s A.C. is kicking, there’s nothing better than a warm breakfast to perk me up before class. Warm foods seem to soothe the body – they gently awaken us, helping us to start the day relaxed instead of in a frenzy of worries and to-do’s. I just picked up this adorable smiley mug at The Confetti Crate (a local boutique), and it makes mornings a little bit sweeter too!

Smiley face mug - happy yellow coffee
Isn’t he adorable?

I love drinking coffee out of a pretty mug, and when you’re living the microwave cooking life, it’s also great for oatmeal. It’s way more aesthetically pleasing than a paper bowl, and you also get to have warm hands while you eat. If you haven’t already, I highly recommend trying a mug breakfast. Besides oatmeal, you can cook eggs, oat cakes, and French toast!

Besides being a good (temperature) warm-up for the day, cooking your own breakfast gives you a self-confidence boost right away. Trying a new recipe or just going to the effort to make yourself something you love sets the intention for the day – it tells your brain “I am not lazy, and I’m not afraid to achieve. I care about taking care of myself.”

Here’s a few hot breakfast ideas I’ve made recently, for your inspiration. You’ll probably notice a lot of oats – but I just bought some eggs, so I’ll be making use of them this week. An open-faced egg sandwich on whole wheat with strawberry all-fruit spread sounds awesome for Valentine’s tomorrow!

And remember this one? OMG yum.

Sweet potato stuffed breakfast with berries dairy-free vegan
Yum. Click here for my post on this!

Here’s the mug oat cake I made today – eek! It was delicious!! I combined the oatmeal directions with a cake batter mug cake recipe, and this was the result. I would’ve made it in my pretty mug, but I went with a smiley cup instead because I was already drinking coffee from it.

Sweet cake batter oatmeal bake
Quaker Protein Oats + vanilla extract + almond milk + egg + a touch of olive oil butter = this cake-y goodness!

I plan to feature the recipe for this oatmeal bake ^^ and my microwave whole grain french toast in an upcoming blog on dorm “baking.” It’s really trial and error – but I can share what I’ve learned!

christmas pancake chocolate chip all foods fit
A real hot breakfast – My family’s Christmas morning chocolate chip pancake feast!

This one’s just me reminiscing… Christmas morning. I think this is why hot breakfasts make me feel happy – I miss my family. Remember, y’all – a microwave will never cook like your dad’s skillet, and that’s ok. Savor every part of life, because each day holds things you’ll miss tomorrow!

Cheers, and happy almost-Valentine’s!

Spread the love,

Rae

Leave a Reply

