Hope Hummus (Yum)

Hummus is just one of those things… you don’t know what you’re missing until you’ve tried it! With the opening of a new Publix in my small-ish college town, everyone’s excited and checking out all the organic brands we never see at Wal-Mart. Publix’s coupon game is en pointe, and I decided to give Hope’s hummus a try because it was BOGO. 2 for the price of 1 is ridiculous!

As long as it’s good.

img_1123

Lucky for me, it rocks!

It just so happens that as my first blog post, and in keeping with the theme of “bright eats,” this thai coconut curry flavor is bright YELLOW! Don’t let that put you off. It’s absolutely perfect. It’s got a subtle curry kick, but it won’t leave you with bad breath like a lot of those garlic-y varieties will. The addition of coconut provides a nice sweetness to balance the heat. And check out these nutritionals:

img_1135

I also bought the original flavor, which I can’t wait to try, and I’m sure will be as good as this one! Hope has the perfect consistency down. This stuff is GOLD.

My favorite dipping vegetable (everyone finds their favorite!) is without a doubt sugar snap peas. If you haven’t already, I’d highly recommend giving them a shot. I have friends who are die-hard carrot fans – to each his own. I love the crunch and sweetness of sugar snap peas (they came by the name “sugar snap” honestly).

By the time I began writing this post, all of my sugar snaps had been eaten (by me). Aww. I plan on buying the rainbow carrots I eyed on my last store visit to try with Hope’s original flavor. These Back to Nature crackers are delicious if you run out of veggies – they’re the perfect crunch and flavor. Sadly, the first ingredient isn’t whole wheat flour… the word “nature” in the name got the best of me. I’ll be scoping out a more wholesome cracker in the future!

img_11201

Keep scrolling if you’d like some practical knowledge and application:

Hummus is a delicious source of plant protein, healthy fat, and fiber – made from chickpeas (aka garbanzo beans). Hummus and whole wheat crackers can actually combine to make a complete protein, with all the amino acids your body needs for rebuilding tissues. Veggies sometimes need a little help sneaking their way into our diets, and dipping them in yummy hummus makes them more exciting. It’s not only a great dip, but also a great mayo replacement when spread thinly on a turkey or chicken sandwich. The items pictured above make a fabulous hearty snack or mini-meal – especially for a simple college student with little more than a mini-fridge and a microwave to her kitchen.

Click here to read Hope Foods’ take on the cancer-scaring, health-boosting superfood we know as hummus, and for some savvy snacking tips and recipe ideas.

Stay bright,

Rae

Leave a Reply

